Aaron Maranville doesn’t own a coffee shop, and it might be difficult to find his product at any local store, his grassroots approach to selling his cold brew is exactly that- a grassroots approach. The only way you’ll be able to get your hands on a jar of his coffee Processed with VSCO with m5 presetis to add him on social media and wait for a status, like the one he made on April 26th, “Cracking the seal on these 7 day brews. 3 new flavors out of the nighthowler brewery today. Hit me up if you want a sample or to place an order”
Even if you didn’t know what cold brew coffee is, you’ve definitely noticed the craze surrounding it the past year or two. Brands from Dunkin’ Donuts to Starbucks have cashed in on it- swapping the normal heat roasting to a coffee that’s steeped with cold water over 12 to 24 hours. “Once cold brew started getting popular, it started getting expensive,” Aaron explained, “I wanted to just try my hand at it to see if I could make it for myself and save the money. Took some trial and error, but once I had the system down I thought, ‘This could be a way to make a little extra cash.'”
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
If you know Aaron, you know his creative process involves his friends, his coworkers, and trial and error. “I watched a few videos and got a recipe from my chef at work.” He recounted, “None of them gave me the results I wanted in taste. So I just sat down and kept trying some different methods.” Aaron went on to show me that he went as far as the way he was grinding the beans themselves, to the coffee/water ratio.- but those particular choices in culinary style aren’t what make him stand apart from other cold brews.
This point in the conversation he begins to excitedly gesticulate his feelings with his hands. “My coffee is very different from store bought cold brew. Every batch I do is small batch seven day brewing process. Each individual mason jar gets brewed, and cleaned through a double filter, strained in a chinois, and passed once more through a filter. I do this with every single batch.”Processed with VSCO with lv02 preset
There’s a reason why he’s become so passionate at this part of describing the process to me, it’s because no one else steeps coffee for seven days. Through his trial and error, and background working in kitchens and coffee shops – he found what works for him. “No two batches will taste exactly the same but all will taste dark and smokey in a way you’ve never had cold brewed coffee.” And he was right, His coffee was good. We stood in his kitchen sampling his new flavors and talking about his business while alternating who was holding Dashiell Wayne, his six month son who also happens to be the reason why Aaron is brewing again.
Because they found someone that can save him.
Dash was born with a heart defect, and not just a heart defect, a rare condition caused by a combination of four heart defects. From the moment he was born in November, Aaron’s family has been all over central Florida seeing doctors. I had Aaron explain it a little more for me.
“So the reason I’m trying to get this to take off in a bigger way than just extra cash is because of my son Dashiell Wayne. In October of this year we will be traveling to Palo Alto California to meet with a team from Stanford for open heart surgery,” An open heart surgery that includes a full heart repair, and although it will be covered by their insurance- Aaron and Erika will have to move to California for a month during the process. Aaron went on, “I’m going to be out of work for a month while we stay in California for his recovery. This is just a way for me to get some extra money set aside to help pay for our plane tickets there, and just to put towards our bills while we are gone. Life is gonna be really hard for a while and I want to ease that burden in anyway possible for my family.”
Maybe I’m biased, but that seems like a damn good reason to buy local.

You can purchase a jar of Nighthowler Cold Brew Coffee for $8 from facebook or instagram
